Skip to main content

TOUR: Sunkissed by Kasie West (Review + Book Look)

 


Sunkissed by Kasie West

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Publishing Date: May 4, 2021

A lighthearted and swoony contemporary YA romance by fan-favorite author Kasie West about a girl who finds that a summer spent at a family resort isn’t as bad as she imagined...and that falling in love is filled with heartache, laughter, and surprises!After being betrayed by her best friend, Avery is hoping for a picture-perfect summer. Too bad her parents have dragged her and her sister to a remotefamily camp for the entire summer. And that’s not even the worst part. Avery also has to deal with no internet, a cute but off-limits staff member, and an always-in-her-face sister.But what starts as a disaster turns into a whirlwind summer romance as Avery embarks on an unexpected journey to figure out what she truly wants and who she wants to be.

 | Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | IndieBound |


MY BOOK LOOK


MY REVIEW


What it's about: 

     Avery Young and her family are spending the summer at an off-the-grid camp resort, which turns out to be the perfect escape from finding out your best friend kissed your ex. Avery is all too familiar with running away from her problems, and avoiding any confrontation. But now, she’s tired of being walked all over, and wants to use the summer to find herself, and not the person people expect her to be. Luckily for her, one of the camp employees, Brooks, the guitar player of the camps band, needs her help too. He knows the camp inside and out, so in exchange he will help her try new things. But working with Brooks shows Avery everything she could have if only she is brave enough to go for it.
  
My thoughts: 

   I read my first Kasie West book in 2014 and my second one not long after, so it is hard for me to even contemplate that 2021 me received an eARC of Sunkissed for this tour. But if I have learned anything, it is that West never disappoints! Sunkissed was everything I could have hoped for in a contemporary at the start of summer break. I think I reached a record in how quickly I read it in one sitting because of how hooked I was. I decided while reading this that West is a master at dialogue. The flow of conversation was always so perfect: the timing, the play on words, the jokes, everything! In general, the timing as a whole was perfect too! Just the right amount of slow burn where other contemporary books tend to rush. This book is literally a bundle of pure joy disguised in pages and ink. I loved the characters so much! I especially loved the sister relationship portrayed with Lauren and Avery. The drama factor was next level too, I was so on edge as to how everything was going to wrap up at the end.
     The Dirty Dancing vibes were immaculate! I cannot express how happy I was with the love interests development, from the meet cute, to the banter, to the deal, to the festival. Avery’s coming of age story was easy to connect with and relatable to a lot of us. Brooks’ initial brooding outside opens to reveal a much deeper soul. I finished the last page with a huge smile on my face, all thanks to the magic Kasie West creates with her stories. I highly recommend this for all your summer TBRs!

Rating: 4.8/5

*thank you to TBRandBeyondTours (see the rest of the tour on their website!) and the author/publisher for providing me an eARC in exchange for an honest review.



About the Author: Kasie West is the author of many YA novels, includingThe Fill-in Boyfriend, P.S. I Like You, Lucky in Love, andListen to Your Heart. Her books have been named ALA-YALSA Quick Picks, JLG selections, and ALA-YALSA Best Books for Young Adults. When she’s not writing, she’s binge-watching television, devouring books, or bury-ing her toes in the sand of the Central Coast. Kasie lives in Fresno, California, with her family




Check out the rest of the tour HERE!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Tour: Broken Wing by Kathleen Mare'e (Review and GIVEAWAY)

  Broken Wing Kathleen Mare’e (Arthur Academy, #1) Publication date: April 26th 2021 Genres: Contemporary, New Adult Hendrix: It’s funny the things you notice as a child. Like the way people uneasily glance away from me whenever I catch their eye. Or the way a stranger seems to smile happily at other children, but when I say hello, their smile looks more uneasy than warm. But as I approach the steel gates to the elite Arthur Academy, I can’t help but take a long-awaited breath towards my freedom. Finally, I have the chance to build the life I want. A future. Something that gives me more to live for than the daily beatings my childhood only knew. The girl I used to be doesn’t exist here. But even as the confidence grows about a life I now have control over, I can’t help but feel there could be something else waiting for me here. Something I’ve never faced before. And it isn’t something I could prepare for. And preparation is what got me out. It got me here. I can’t afford to lo

TOUR: Sweet & Bitter Magic by Adrienne Tooley (review + journal spread + GIVEAWAY)

  Sweet & Bitter Magic by Adrienne Tooley Genre: Young Adult Fantasy Publishing Date: March 9, 2021 Synopsis:  In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of  Sorcery of Thorns  and  Girls of Paper and Fire , a  witch cursed to never love meets a  girl hiding her own dangerous magic, and the two strike a  dangerous bargain to save their queendom.  Tamsin is the most powerful witch of her generation. But after committing the worst magical sin,  she’s exiled by the ruling Coven and cursed with the inabil ity to love. The only way she can get those  feelings back — even for just a little while — is to steal love from others.  Wren is a source — a rare kind of person who is made of magic, despite being unable to use it herself.  Sources are required to train with the  Coven as soon as they discover their abilities, but Wren — the  only caretaker to her ailing father — has spent her life hiding her secret. When a magical plague ravages the queendom, Wren’s father falls victim. To sa